Article Prize

This article prize recognizes scholarly excellence in Alcott studies, and it honors the memory of Professor Beverly Lyon Clark, whose scholarship has had an enormous impact on Alcott Studies.

A committee composed of three members of the Louisa May Alcott Society appointed by the Society President chooses the winning article each year. The winner will be presented with a certificate and a small cash award at the Annual American Literature Association Conference. Article prize winners are encouraged to attend the conference to receive the award, as they are able.

Eligibility. For the prize to be awarded in May 2024, an article will be eligible for consideration if it appeared in print in a journal or edited collection with a 2023 date. If the date of publication is not 2023, but the work appeared in 2023, it would also be eligible.

Nominations. To nominate an article, please submit a PDF copy of the article via email to Gregory Eiselein at The Society invites members, publishers, journals, and editors to nominate articles, and it  very much encourages individuals to nominate their own work for consideration.

Deadline and Timeline. The deadline for submission for the 2024 Article Prize is February 1, 2024. The winner will be notified by March 15, 2024 and invited to attend the ALA Conference in Chicago in May of 2024. Questions and inquiries can also be directed to to Gregory Eiselein at

Previous Winners.

2023: Sandra H. Petrulionis, “‘Faithfulness Itself’: The Imperative for Hannah Mullet in Little Women,” Little Women at 150